top of page
No tags yet.

New Costume Planning

Comic Con has now been over for a week. So naturally, I've already started planning for next year. I have decided to be (drum roll please) Belle!

Big surprise, I know, Belle has always been one of my favorites. A few (ok, several) years ago I modified a prom dress into her ball gown for Halloween. (No, that's not My Edward poster.)

I'm really excited to start making this winter dress. It's going to be warm and fuzzy and cozy and delicious. I've found some great cosplays for inspiration.

This is one of my favorites. I love the fabric choices, and she looks like a real person wearing real clothes, as opposed to a shiny costume satin imitation. (Click the picture to link to her website.)

But wait, there's more. For my special twist on this outfit, I'm going to steampunk it. Belle, as a funny girl with an inventor father who lives in a castle surrounded by household objects that move on their own, lends herself to steam punk rather well. I've seen various steampunk interpretations of Belle (as well as the occasional taco Belle) around the web, but it always seems to be her yellow or blue dresses that have been adapted. My favorite of her dresses are the pink and the green.

Anyway, I've decided to move Belle to the Victorian age, and I'm planning an early bustle silhouette- the early 1870's. And so I've started assembling this pattern list- from the skin out.

1. Combination Underwear- TV 105

I learned from my Scarlett chemise and drawers- attached is probably better. My chemise kept trying to pull up above my corset, and then it would show over the bodice lines, so I was always tugging down on the bottom of my chemise, the ends of which were easy to lose in my sea of petticoats. And my drawers- didn't want to stay around my waist. In trying them on I noticed they were always slipping down, to avoid losing them on the convention floor I tied the drawstring through my corset lacing. I do wonder, though, how well does it work to button up the front underneath the corset?

2. Grand Bustle- TV 108

This fun, ruffly bustle has extra support at the hem I think it will have enough weight so support both my wide skirts and the cape- while still allowing me to sit down.

3. Petticoats- TV 170

I'm really excited to add this pattern to my collection because it has enough petticoats in it to cover 30 years worth of Victorian styles. I plan to make view A this time. Tucks and Lace, oh yay. :)

4. Underskirt- TV 201

This underskirt has a lot of fullness to it. I plan to use it for both a second petticoat and the underskirt, and wear them without the bustle to at least get some pictures of my favorite scene in this dress- it spread across the floor all around her as she reads. I intend to make this in medium pink with a light pink ruffle at the bottom (though smaller than the one in the pattern), and the light pink stripe down the front. I also intend to make the waistband from light pink.

5. Apron Overskirt- TV 303

This apron looks pretty simple as far as bustle overskirts go, and I think will lend itself nicely to the color scheme. I plan to make it in dark pink with light pink ruffle trimming.

6. Bodice- TV 420 or TV 416

I haven't quite decided yet. The Cuirass bodice has the evening options that I think would be easiest to adapt to Belle's wide neckline (Though why in the world does she have such a wide neckline in the middle of winter? I mean, really.) It has that nice rounded front at the waistline. But, it also has a long rounded back. It's from over the fashion line into the natural form era, and so is made to be worn over a smaller bustle. The ball gown basque comes to a point in front-which I don't like as much as the rounded, and has the ducktail ruffles in the back- which may be outside my skill set. This will require further consideration. Fortunately, i have the time.

7. Cape and Hood

I haven't looked at patterns for this item yet. But I'm pretty sure I want a velvet cloak with a soft lining. And I think I want my cloak to be able to separate from the hood and capelet. I'm thinking an invisible zipper. But I'll play with that once I've picked a pattern. Also, my cape may or may not be elaborately embroidered. We'll see.

8. Muff

I've already bought this pattern- I can't wait to make one. Or five. Because who doesn't want a muff?

9. Boots

Ok, this isn't a pattern. But I want want want these boots. Maybe if I'm very very good Santa will hook me up. :)

10. Accessories

Also not a pattern, more a note to self. I need these charms as some part of my costume.

11. Hat

I'm a bit on the fence about this, because I really want it, but do you really want a hat when you're wearing a hood? If I do make a hat, it will be this one. Though I'm not sure which size I would need yet.

bottom of page