top of page
No tags yet.

Winter Belle- A Catch Up Post

It's ok, you can say it. I am a super slacker. Comic Con was almost six months ago, and I still haven't posted about my costume. Time before con got a little down to the wire with deadlines, and I was focused on getting my documentation into the album they needed for prejudging (available here) but really that's no excuse for my complete lack of follow through afterwards. So, here is the steampunk winter Belle I entered for 2017.

And here are my scores:

Once again, I don't know what the scores are out of, or how I stacked up overall. I think I upped my stage performance this year, though these scores don't compare at all to the previous year's.

This year's comments were a lot more detailed, which I appreciated.

One point of construction criticism that I got was that my bodice was a bit shapeless. Which, looking back now, I'll admit it is. The bodice was the last thing that I put together, which it always is, because I struggle the most with bodices and always put them off. I need to improve my skills at fitting, and not be afraid to really mess with a mock up and Make it fit. I think the biggest issue I have is that I know what a bodice should look like, The problem is that I don't look like that, and that's something I really struggle with. But, I have taken the bodice apart, and I'm going to make it up better this time. And when I do, I'll get some nice pictures taken. For now, here are some pictures of the process, because it was a really fun journey. :)

Have you ever tried finding three different colors of pink that all go well together? Yeah. So, I bought a bolt of white cotton sateen and some cotton ribbon and used my conscripted slave labor to get the colors I wanted.

Then, I pleated and pleated until my pleater was sore. There are four different sizes of box pleats on this dress, all set with vinegar. And when we left the convention the final day it was raining, meaning that all of my pleats had to be pressed over again when I wore it next.

And here is my costume taking up all of the closet space. The under and over skirts are both on one waistband, which defies all normal methods of hanging. Here, you can see, it takes two hangers- and still only stayed in the clips because the skirt's inner ties are actually holding it up.

Here's a shot of my completed hat. I have Mrs. Potts and Chip, some silverware, clock gears and hands for Cogsworth, feathers for Babette. (I had Lumiere earrings, not pictured here.)

And, here are the pictures I had taken for the cosplay prejudging submission. My bodice was not done, it's actually pinned closed here, and the neckline you can see, looks completely different. It's actually just the last of my scrap fabric that color loosely sewn to the neckline and tucked in, just so there would be something there. It's a bit of a softer look, and I actually like it in pictures. I may make different trim decisions when I refinish my bodice.

bottom of page