top of page
No tags yet.

Warm Hands, Warm Heart

I am shockingly bad at math. The shocking part about that is that I'm actually pretty good at math, in school. I was an econ major, I've taken calculus. But somehow when it comes to sewing room math, I always get it wrong. Now, part of this is because I'll make a calculation and then change my mind about one of the variables and still expect the rest to work out the same. I also compulsively round up, always worried that I'll be short on materials (which I have been before, so it's not a completely irrational fear.) The result is that I frequently end up with leftover fabric. Which is a bummer when you're talking about really overly expensive fabric.

The point of my rambling is, I recently ended up with a lot more extra velvet than I had planned for. And some extra fur trim, but that I at least Knew I was getting more than I needed of. But, sometimes, there is a perfect use for scraps.

I got this pattern a while back, and have just been waiting for the opportunity to use it. :) And so, I made a muff.

Inside I got to use some more of this stained glass fabric that I love. :) I put in a zippered pocket, and also added a casing (that sideways strip you'll notice if you've looked closely enough to find the zipper) so that I can thread a ribbon or cord through there and hang it around my neck. (Though if I'd really been thinking I would have just attached belt loops to the inside, so that if I want to tie a cord to my wrist instead I don't need quite as long of a piece. But oh well, next time.)

The outside is made of left over velvet and pieced fur trim, with extra batting sewn in to help the velvet sit more evenly with the fur.

And I love it. :) It almost makes me wish it wasn't August outside, so that I could actually use it.

bottom of page